top of page

It's Been Buggin

The conversation has come up more then a few time for me in the last couple of months about why people want to help others. Why volunteer and donate? In a group discussion I was in one person said when someone helps it is because they want to feel powerful. That might happen sometimes. That is great for some and doesn't really matter so long as people get help. However, it has been buggin me because that isn't why I do it. My perspective is a little different. When I am helping others I am helping myself. Not as selfish as it sounds. It is not just because it gives me time for me, it feels good and right to be helping out. It is not just because I want to show my children giving is the right thing to do because people should love and help one another especially those that need it the most.

What is the most important reason why I choose to volunteer? The people or animals who are in need of volunteers are doing something special. They are having an experience which you and I have chosen not to have. For whatever reason they are in a situation where they need to ask for help. Just like fingerprints, no two lives are exactly the same. I know because they are having their life I don't have to go through it. If I can help either through my books or lending an ear I do it in appreciation for what they have done for me.

Julie


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page